COUMING of Age for Hull 2017

3rd Feb - 22nd March 2017
10am - 8pm / Price: Free

Exhibition curated by Cosey Fanni Tutti
and Cabinet, London. Live events programme in association with The Quietus.

Explore the life of COUM Transmissions in the first exhibition of materials drawn from the personal archives of Cosey Fanni Tutti and Genesis P-Orridge. Live events organised by The Quietus will trace the conception and legacy of COUM, combining music, talks and discussions among original COUM members.

Founded in Hull during the late 1960s by artists Genesis P-Orridge and Cosey Fanni Tutti, COUM Transmissions was a collective whose work confronted, subverted and challenged societal conventions.

Labelled ‘the wreckers of civilisation’ by a Conservative MP following COUM’s Prostitution show at London’s Institute of Contemporary Arts, the group’s end in 1976 heralded the formation of the musical collective Throbbing Gristle.

A guide to the performance art collective formed in Hull.

64 Humber Street, Hull. HU1 1TU
(Accessible Toilets, Level Access, Lift Access, Wheelchair Access)


City of Culture

Faber are proud to announce the publication of ART SEX MUSIC
by Cosey Fanni Tutti
for 6th April 2017

Art Sex Music is the autobiography of a musician who, as a founding member of the avant-garde group Throbbing Gristle and electronic pioneers Chris & Cosey, has consistently challenged the boundaries of music over the past four decades.

It is the account of an artist who, as part of COUM Transmissions, represented Britain at the IXth Biennale de Paris, whose Prostitution show at the ICA in 1976 caused the Conservative MP Nicholas Fairbairn to declare her, COUM and Throbbing Gristle ‘Wreckers of Civilisation’… shortly before he was arrested for indecent exposure, and whose work continues to be held at the vanguard of contemporary art, some of which resides as part of the Tate permanent collection.

And it is the story of her work as a pornographic model and striptease artiste which challenged assumptions about morality, pornography and art.

Art Sex Music is the wise, shocking and elegant autobiography of Cosey Fanni Tutti.

Pre-Order Art Sex Music at Amazon
Pre-Order Art Sex Music at Waterstones

• • • • • • • • • • • • • • •

Art Sex Music - Spoken Word Events

September 1st - 4th - Festival No.6, Estuary Stage
Q&A with Andrew Weatherall

October 26th - ICA Theatre, London
Q&A with Maria Fusco, a rare screening of the COUM Transmissions film After Cease to Exist, an exhibition of Cosey's original ICA Prostitution Magazine Actions, plus DJ set by Richard Clouston's Cosey Club.

Stacks Image 200110

Cosey Fanni Tutti is a performance artist and musician best known for her time in the avant-garde groups Throbbing Gristle and Chris & Cosey. Born in Hull in 1951, she currently resides in Norfolk. Her most recent release, ‘f(x)', with her group Carter Tutti Void, was released to great critical acclaim in 2016.

For enquiries (readings and Q&A etc.) regarding Cosey’s forthcoming autobiography please contact
Dan Papps, Manager of Faber Social, on 020 7927 3849 or email


2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | + more at the CARTER TUTTI NEWS ARCHIVE